PHPA to Announce 2018 Curt Leichner Distinguished Member Award Recipient

Author: Darryl Dionne, PHPA Director of Communications and Business Development
Date: Dec 24, 2017

The Professional Hockey Players’ Association (PHPA) will be announcing the 2018 recipient of the PHPA Curt Leichner Distinguished Member Award in early February, 2018.

The Award, named in honor of the former PHPA Executive Director, is awarded each year to a member of the hockey community who has made significant contributions towards the advancement of professional minor league hockey, and has continued to diligently serve the sport.

Leichner, who passed away in May 2006, served as the PHPA’s Executive Director from 1969 until 1993.  He was instrumental in forming the players’ union, and negotiating the first Collective Bargaining Agreements between the PHPA and the former Western Hockey League (WHL), American Hockey League (AHL), and the former Central Hockey League (CHL). Thousands of professional hockey players have had their rights advanced and enforced as a result of Leichner's vision for a better workplace environment.

Award recipients are selected by the PHPA Executive Committee.  Prior recipients of the Award include: Brad Treliving (2017), Phil Mazzone and Rick Gorman (2016), Karen Bender (2015), Ted Nolan (2014), Claude Julien (2013), Ronald Jaros (2012), Darcy Regier (2011), Arlo Goodwin (2010), Don Cherry and Ron MacLean (2009), and Doug Messier (2008).

The Curt Leichner Distinguished Member Award is the highest honour bestowed by the PHPA.

  Share   Tweet

Strategic Partners